top of page

Busy Repotting and Transplanting my Hepatica Seedlings


Jars full of Hepatica seedlings

I have been potting up some of my Hepatica seedlings during the last month and most of them were in pretty good condition. Although I found some of my plants' roots were a little bit damaged, I am hoping that after I've cleaned and cared for them they will recover.

Many Hepatica seedlings

I see some of the buds have already opened out of season, but I am hoping they will flower next February. We added more propagation space to hold my seedlings, and I think it would be fun to see it completely full of blooming flowers! I am thinking about spring every day now.


Interesting to see many different sizes of Hepatica seedlings despite the seed being sown on the same date. This is due both to the germination date (some of them germinate a year or two later) and how vigorous each one is.

Hepatica seedling roots

Some even lost their leaves...

Small Hepatica seedlings

Hepatica like well-drained soil.

Hepatica seedling soil mix

There are many in need of transplant.

Hepatica waiting to be potted up

Hope to see the pretty flowers in spring!

bottom of page