top of page

Hepatica nobilis Special Leaves

I received some special leaf forms of H. nobilis from a friend in Scandinavia and I am thrilled to be able to grow them myself! In nature, these special leaf forms are much rarer than any fancy-colored flowers.


I've heard that in nature, pink-colored flowers of H. nobilis are rare, and white flowers are even rarer. It seems true that the vast majority of H. nobilis in nature mainly have blue flowers. I have seen many pictures but I have never seen special leaf forms in the natural habitat of H. nobilis.


That being said, these unique forms seem to be able to be passed on to their offspring and can most likely produce similar shapes when we sow self-pollinated seeds.

Interesting leaf form of Hepatica nobilis

Hepatica nobilis with crenulated leaves

Interesting Hepatica nobilis leaf

Crenulated leaves on Hepatica nobilis

bottom of page